Call Us Email Map Contact Us
Search Button

Guidelines & Resources

By law, (Secs. 66-3-23 and 66-5-22 NMSA 1978), a  vehicle owner or licensed driver who moves to a new address is required to notify the Motor Vehicle Division, within 10 days, of the new address.

The Change of Address form can be used to update your address for vehicle, driver, or ID information at the MVD. New address information will go into MVD’s automated record system. If you want to have your new address appear on your driver license or ID card, you must come into a MVD Field Office and get a new driver license or ID card. You will have a new picture taken, and must pay the license fee. The driver license fee is $18.00 for a four-year license or $34.00 for an eight-year license.

Change of Address Request Form | Download PDF

Use this form if:

  • You would like to update your address for vehicle, driver, or ID information in the MVD records system

Special Instructions: This form is eligible to be mailed, faxed, or scanned and emailed to MVD. Once you print the form, sign and date it.

Scan the printed form and email it to:
Regina.Romero@state.nm.us

or

Fax: 505-827-0977

or

Mail to

MVD Data Entry Unit

P.O. Box 630

Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-0630

THE CHANGE OF ADDRESS FORM MUST BE SIGNED FOR THE ADDRESS UPDATE TO OCCUR.

If you are renewing your vehicle registration, you must make sure that your address is updated with the MVD prior to renewing. If you’ve received a renewal notification from MVD in the mail, you can change your address on the notification form before sending it in.

Locate an MVD Office

Find a MVD Service Provider Near You

MVD Home          Site Map          Privacy & Security          Site Policies          Accessibility          About Us          Contact Us

Governor Susana Martinez

New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division Facebook Page


Call Email Map Contact